Toss Hong Kong chose to bowl against India

Ambati Rayudu raises his bat AFP

Hong Kong won the toss and chose to bowl first at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday. Captain Anshy Rath said that the team wanted to play to its strength, which was bowling, after the heavy defeat in the opening match against Pakistan.

Rath, who described the 116 all out in their previous match as “unforgivable”, nevertheless kept faith with the same XI, and said that the extra grass on the pitch would make chasing easier under lights.

India handed a debut to Khaleel Ahmed, the 20-year-old left-arm seamer who had been a mildly surprising inclusion in the squad.

The sapping heat was undoubtedly a factor in India resting Jasprit Bumrah, with a match against Pakistan on the morrow. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who made his return from injury during the quadrangular A series in India in August, will get his first international outing since the third ODI against England in July. That match had aggravated a back injury and put him out of action of the Test series that followed.

India also opted to go without KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya. The middle-order spots, which captain Rohit Sharma had said are up for grabs, will be filled by Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik and Kedar Jadhav.

India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Ambati Rayudu, 4 Dinesh Karthik, 5 MS Dhoni (wk), 6 Kedar Jadhav, 7 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 8 Kuldeep Yadav, 9 Shardul Thakur, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Khaleel Ahmed

Hong Kong: 1 Nizakat Khan, 2 Anshuman Rath (capt), 3 Babar Hayat, 4 Christopher Carter, 5 Kinchit Shah, 6 Ehsan Khan, 7 Aizaz Khan, 8 Scott McKechnie (wk), 9 Tanwir Afzal, 10 Ehsan Nawaz, 11 Nadeem Ahmed


Source link